Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 20th, 2009

They’re the mother of all screw ups.  They make an ass out of you and me.  We could probably go on for hours with such sterling witticisms.  Why am I talking about assumptions?  Because after reading more missives from the Healthcare Faithful today, I am convinced that there are a few things that they assume to be true to help harden their belief that Congress is doing the right thing in considering the bill being bandied about.

At one site, I asked the host to explain to me how the bill is Constitutional, a question that I ask a lot, while recieving no specific answer from anyone.  The response I got in this case?

BiW, please don’t go all constitutional on me. I’m no constitutional scholar but I’d wager the constitution gives wide latitude for the government to protect the well-being of its people. When multitudes don’t have health care, that falls under protecting the well being of the citizenry.

What?  The government proposes to muscle its way into a large portion of the private sector, and put itself in a position where it has access to you most private information, and spend buckets of your money while doing so, and you aren’t sure where it gets the authority to do so?  My response?

Don’t wager. Be sure. If we have a “right of privacy”, distilled from Constitutional “penumbras” that says the government has to keep its laws off women’s bodies, from government intrusion in our bedrooms that makes sodomy ok, what allows government to regulate the retention and format of each person’s health care records, and decisions about our care, including the innocuous ‘end of life counseling? Read the Constitution carefully. The authority is not there.

Honestly.  The only way that I can even see a way of thinking that says that supporting this bill without even asking the question is by being firmly gripped by two assumptions:

1.  My money is not my money, it is the government’s money, and they will only let me keep what they have not yet figured out how to spend for me.

2.  Healthcare is a right.

I got confirmation of the first later in that thread when one supporter answered the question of how to pay for it:

LOL So how is this monstrosity going to be paid for?

Capping the charitable deduction at 28 percent for the very rich (who would otherwise be able to save 35 cents on each dollar they give to charity) is one way to finance healthcare reform. It’s estimated that it would generate $318 over 10 years. Another is to apply a graduated surcharge, or “surtax,” on the very wealthiest Americans. 96% of small business would be unaffected, so too would 98.8% of taxpayers. There is also a plan to tax “gold-plated, Cadillac” insurance policies that only the rich can afford.

“Yeah! Soak the rich!  They don’t have a right to determine how they spend their money!  Why should they when the government can take it and give it to me?”  What happens when it isn’t the other guy who is “rich” any more?  What happens when it is you?

The second is more sinister.  Its the elephant on the living room couch that the left is quietly ignoring while making these arguments.  Granted, not all are silent, and a few try to say it out loud.  My question for these people is “Really?  Health care is a right?  Did we decide that as a nation, or did a few dreamers and schemers on the left decide this for all of us?”

Don’t bother.  I know the answer, and you don’t speak for me.  Quit presuming you have the right to do so.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers